EEL News Service 2003/15, 9 October 2003

General news

The EEL Website has concluded cooperation agreements with researchers and research institutes where it concerns the updating of the national pages of Belgium, Finland, Germany, Italy and Russia and on the adding of dossiers on specific topics to the website. In the next newsletter, more details will be presented and the persons / institutes involved will be added to the Who’s who page.

At the same time, the co-editor and co-founder of the EEL website, Jurgen Lefevere, has left FIELD. As a result, he will not be functioning as co-editor any more. We would like to express our gratitude for his work on EEL.

Added to the Case law page:

* Case C-30/01 Commission v United Kindgdom

ECJ 23 September 2003

Gibraltar is excluded from the customs union and therefore is not required to comply with EC environmental rules set in internal market directives.

* Case C-74/02 Commission v Germany

ECJ 25 September 2003

Germany was condemned for failing to comply with EC rules on labeling of new cars’ fuel consumption and carbon dioxide emissions, following similar judgments regarding France and Italy.

* Case C-322/00 Commission v The Netherlands

ECJ 2 October 2003

The Netherlands’ loss-based system to limit phosphate and nitrate pollution from agriculture is not in line with 1991 Directive concerning the protection of waters against pollution caused by nitrates from agricultural sources. Netherlands should also set maximum manure application levels per hectare rather than an averaged national one in order to comply with the directive.

Added to Documents page:

* Communication from the Commission Towards a Thematic Strategy on the Sustainable Use of Natural Resources COM(2003) 572 final of 1 October 2003

Added to Conference page:

* 1-2 December 2003, Organic Farming and GMOs: Chances or Risks through Co-Existence?, Maastricht, the Netherlands

Added to National pages, Russia:

*Committee on Standardisation (Gosstandart)



Wybe Th. Douma (T.M.C. Asser Institute, The Hague)

Daria Ratsiborinskaya (Institute of European law, MGIMO-University, Moscow)

Technical realisation

Marco van der Harst, Julien J.M. Simon

(T.M.C. Asser Institute, The Hague)